The Real You

Standard

Real, not fake, trustworthy – a few thoughts that come to mind when you think about the word authentic. How do we look at our authentic self when it comes to our work persona? Do we choose our positions and/or organizations based upon how they align with who we are? I have often thought about those organizations that encourage people to be real. What happens when an individual person’s “real” does not fit with a company’s culture?

I have thought about the many positions I have held in my lifetime and the level of authenticity I have applied to each of them. In many cases, I was a true authentic – I performed exactly how I am in real life, true to myself. Unfortunately, there were a few positions in which I did not act within my authentic self and I always wondered how it would impact me as a person. For example, I was once employed in an organization where the team members were not as valued as I thought they should be. This created conflict, as my value stream was not in alignment with the others on the leadership team. I attempted to behave in the manner, in which I was expected to, but eventually I could no longer continue to act against my authentic self. I made the conscious decision to act counter-culture to the others on the leadership team. While this did not win me friends within the leadership team, my team members appreciated my efforts in placing value on their positions and work.

It is important that we understand who we are as individuals and how we apply our authenticity to our life in the workplace. If you are not able to be authentic at work, then you may have to question if that is the place you want to be?

 

Leave a Reply

