Do You Have a Back-Story?

Standard

A strange thought occurred to me the other day when I was preforming my annual after-Easter tradition of turning all of the Easter eggs into egg salad. As I was peeling and mashing up a dozen hard-boiled eggs, I noticed there were a few eggs where the coloring had gone through onto the egg white. This is nothing new, typically when small children color Easter eggs, the words “gently place the egg in the color” does not apply and a few eggs will be cracked, allowing the egg dye to seep through.

Where am I going with this, right? If I went to the store and bought egg salad then discovered small pieces of green and blue in it, I would definitely return it. However, I don’t have a problem with small pieces of green and blue egg in my own egg salad because I know why it is there.

How many times have we taken a look at a person or situation in a negative light because we do not have all of the information? We are quick to judge something because it looks unusual or appears unsettling to us.  What happens when we have all of the information about something or someone? Does the same situation that previously bothered us impact us in a different way once we understand the back-story?

I guess you could say it is like the old saying that you cannot judge a book by its cover. Maybe things wouldn’t bother us as much if we understand why. If the pizza you ordered takes longer than 30 minutes and it is snowing heavily, you understand why your order might be taking longer than expected and are less likely to get angry.

Am I saying that you should keep food from the grocery that has foreign objects in it? Definitely not! What I am saying is that sometimes you need to dig a little deeper to understand that there is generally a reason why something might not appear to be as you expect it to, just like green and blue egg salad!

Leave a Reply

