A Noisy World

Standard

It is hard to escape all of the noise that exists around us. There is the noise you actually hear, such as barking dogs and loud children (something that is heard quite often in my home.) Or the noise you do not hear – all of the outside influences, such as social media, other people, or the many things that roll around inside your brain on a daily basis.

When we talk about a noisy world, I personally believe the internal noise that we deal with is far more difficult to process than noise that is obvious. I know this seems like a confusing idea, but let me put it into perspective for you.

I am a writer, when I sit down to write a blog, story, or article, I prefer to have quiet so I can think and hopefully string together a couple of intelligent thoughts. Sometimes it works, other times, not so much! Can I work if the house is noisy? Of course I can, it just makes it a bit more difficult to concentrate, but not impossible. On the other hand, I can be sitting in a quiet room working on a story, but cannot focus due to all of the “noise” going on inside my head. The list of everything I need to work on, the kids’ schedules, does this blog really make sense, did I forget to pick up the dry-cleaning; what on earth am I going to make for dinner…. dare I even mention the crazy stuff on Twitter? See how difficult it can be to think about the actual work at hand when we cannot clear our minds to focus?

This scenario can be challenging for a leader. You are tasked with leading a group or an organization when there are so many things that can and usually happen in a day creating unnecessary diversions in our paths. Keep in mind that I am not referring to interruptions from your team members or colleagues. Speaking with a team member about an issue should never be considered “noise” in my opinion. If someone is concerned enough to seek out your assistance, calling their concerns noise will not do much to solidify your position as a leader.   The type of noise I am referring to is the type that you can allow to overtake your brain, or you can squash it like a bug. Understanding that internal noise exists and getting rid of it can be a challenge. For some, it is getting up and taking a walk to step away from the noise for a moment. For me, I have personally found that jotting down notes on my writing ideas on paper helps keep me on track. For some reason, once I write something down the old-fashioned way, it puts my thoughts back in order. How do you block out all of the “noise” to effectively lead?

Leave a Reply

