You Don’t Make Decisions Unless You Ask Me!

Standard

I would like to share this post from a guest blogger, EJ Widun.  Besides sharing my passion for Servant Leadership and customer service, he is also my better half!

On a recent family vacation, we were commuting to Naples from Orlando. After an early start from Orlando, we decided to make a rest stop and get some food at a fast food restaurant off the highway. It was 10:20 AM. According to the sign, the breakfast menu does not stop until 10:30 but our children prefer lunch instead of breakfast. I figured I would ask the young lady at the counter if it was possible to get a hamburger instead of breakfast. She looked at what was prepared behind her and noticed some burgers were up. She said sure no problem with a huge smile. I finished paying the bill and stepped to the side to wait for my order. While there, the store manager confronted the young lady. I don’t know if she realized it was my order or not, but the manager said to the young woman: “Who told you we could serve burgers now? Did you ask me? I don’t think so. You never serve anything off of menu without asking me!” The young woman replied with a sheepish response of: “I saw burgers up already and wrapped so I thought it was ok.” The manager snapped back: “You don’t think. You ask me and I will let you know. Is that clear?”

I was amazed and stunned by the reaction of a “customer-friendly” fast food establishment. The young lady at the counter did everything possible to make the visit as satisfying as possible; while the manager did not care and berated the poor customer focused team member.

This manager is clearly not a leader. She had no clue of what it takes to make a successful customer experience or making a team member feel good about taking initiative. As a leader, you should never publicly berate a team member over a customer’s order. So many missteps in what should have been a simple transaction. My experience at this restaurant not only impacted this trip but my opinion of the brand. So sad that a manager could not foster a positive experience, she not only damaged her own identity but the identity of the brand as well.

2 thoughts on “You Don’t Make Decisions Unless You Ask Me!

  1. Lynn Mitchell

    So true! As a manager in the banking arena, if I caught an employee doing something inappropriate, I would always wait until the customer was gone before conversing with the employee about the situation. In your case, the employee was making the right decision to satisfy a customer so the manager totally missed the opportunity to commend the employee for actuslly doing the right thing,

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Blogger enthustiest

    Totally true that was not a good thing to discuss something with an employee while the customer was RIGHT INFRONT OF EM! EJ Widun is a great helper to Kristin! Let him help more! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Rate!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

